Charlie

Today I dined in the residence of Charlie Alvin Roper, who is still alive and kicking like he was in the military: flirting with the ladies and leading people to the dining hall and reading. That was only half of it, the day ended with a visit to his wife, Charlotte who has lost most of her memory and is no longer living with her King, tears flowed as I held her hand.

With tears streaming down my face, I couldn’t help but wonder if that same professor is still alive. (gotta love those counterfactuals  in social science ;))  Some evidence suggests that he is. If this is true, “Imagination is more important than knowledge” (Einstein) there are a couple of options (qualitative methodologies)  on the table. a) take a stupid Mexican i know and wrap this hands around the steering wheel of a car and remove each of this fingers one by one and stop the blood with a cigarette lighter – not a fan of this cause I don’t like violence (not a huge fan 😉 ) b) spend the rest of his adult life “in the oldest hospital in Hungary” (my father). I like this one the best, because he probably has great insurance, health that is. See he probably thinks I won’t be at graduation ceremony, and all that celebratory stuff, but I will. And if I see him hand out one piece of paper we will resort to option a) and I really don’t want to have to do this, because he will never read anything else I write as a graduate student at Central European University. Others will.

Feedback is much appreciated in this regard …. mainly regarding the methodology. Thanks Everyone.

Leave a Reply

