Finally, photos … again!

Yes, the elections are next week. I get that. But that’s not what this site is about. I’m sure there’s a billion other blogs for that. Instead, its about damn time I put some new photos [click to enlarge] up for your viewing pleasure:

Mom invited some friends over to try a new dish out a while back. I love cooking. I love cooking in this culture, and it’s a really good time when the neighbors are invited …

because that usually means a REALLY good time! ANUSH!

A couple weeks ago I visited the famous Areni village where some excellent wine is being produced; prior to meeting some European tourists being entertained by a local folk dance group …

“Riverdance mi arse!” Armenians can dance and it’s a beautiful thing to watch!

The man, the myth, the legend in town. Once I was in the adjacent town 20 km away, 5 seconds into the conversation, someone asked if I had tried his product. I think you know the answer to that.

and the woman who raised the man, the myth, the legend … great sense of humor by the way. I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard in my life when talking with here about life.

And, finally, last week we celebrated a birthday for a volunteer (lady at the end of the table) in our marz (region).

So there you have it, the last few weeks summed up in a few photos. I’m pathetic, I know there is more that is missing, small things, like the time my host mom ran into the kitchen as I was making pizza and was holding a dead bird in hand and screamed”Looook it’s dead”! I wasn’t really sure how to respond so I just let her walk through to the balcony and despose of it in her own peaceful way.

4 responses to “Finally, photos … again!

  1. hey – love the beard!! hope you are well and good! miss you here in the states, but it looks like you are doing grand, just grand!

  2. The man, the myth, the legend………..of Stickydug!!

    Haha cool pics and good stories, thanks for keepin us in the loop!

  3. I like the beard too. I tried to send you an email, so let me know if you get it.

  4. Has Jesus returned to the Holy Land? Or is there an Islamist in our midst – the Armenians don’t cotton much to extremists. 😉

    I hope you are doing well big E and hope you are having an adverturous time. It looks wonderful from the outside, aside from the Grizzy Adams affair. 😉

    We think of you often.

    ~Jeff n ‘tash

Leave a Reply

