Work and Play

Contrary to popular belief on this blog (and on sporadic phone calls with friends) I am actually working here; hence the large gap in between this post and the previous. Yes, things have started picking up. Allow me to elaborate.

First, computer classes are taking place a couple of times a week, with about 10 students a week; with some tutoring on the side, bringing the grand total to about 15 or so. Secondly, it seems each week a news business man crosses my path. For instance, the director of the famous Armenian Winery in Areni. Quite a tasty beverage he has going for himself. And, yes, he does ship to the U.S., I think. Still working on that vocabulary in Armenian. Lastly, grants. Those wonderful, tedious, time consuming projects. We’ve gradually begun assessing the tourism needs for the area. I’m on board for what they want to do, now we just need to convey that in English and Armenian for those generous donors.

Okay, playtime.

This is usually where photos would come in handy. Unfortuantely, I’ve been somewhat slacking in this department as of late. I’ve been spending more time with my family and their friends, and studying the language more intensely. Recently they voted into office a new town mayor, who just so happens to be my neighor. It still is kind of funny to come home from work, have dinner and watch Lost (they love this show) with my host mom. Or come home for lunch and watch Lock, Stock and Two Smokin’ Barrels with my host dad. After I finish this writing this, I’m off to go play soccer with the local team at the stadium. After that, it’s anyone’s guess.

2 responses to “Work and Play

  1. Oooooh soccer, that’s hot.

  2. send me some of that wine – yum

Leave a Reply

